Catholic Charities in the News

As the charitable arm of the Diocese of Phoenix, we help the most vulnerable in seven counties in Northern and Central Arizona.


24th Annual Community Achievement Awards Finalists Announced

LAUGHLIN, Arizona. (September 23, 2021): The Laughlin Chamber of Commerce proudly announces that our diverse and dedicated volunteer judges have selected the finalists for the 24th Annual Community Achievement Awards, to be held at the Laughlin Ranch Golf Club & Spa on November 13th, 2021.

Citizen of the Year

Donna Kelly

John Hassett

Matt Laughlin

Sean Hammond 

Connie Davis Youth Citizen of the Year

Enrique Gabriel Vollaire, Mohave High School

Ethan Fromm, Mohave High School

Rylee Hoekstra, Mohave Accelerated Learning Center

Vanessa Mejia, Laughlin Jr/Sr High School

Young Wonder Award

Espn Amann, Mohave High School

Hannah Leyendecker, Mohave High School

Kevin Guenther, River Valley High School

Zane Gledhill Rabin, Mohave Accelerated Learning Center 

Educator of the Year

Brittany McLaughlin, Young Scholar's Academy

Cory Nicklin, Mohave Accelerated Learning Center

Coy O'Kelley, Academy of Building Industries

Heidi Zenefski, Laughlin Jr/Sr High School

Lloyd Shires Tourism Award

General Mills, Mills Tours

Scott Glover, Laughlin Tours, LLC

Public Service Award

Andrew Sevillano, Bullhead City Police Department

Bullhead City Elementary School District 15/Colorado River Union High School District 2 Mechanics - Dennis Sercu, Ken Gibb, Chris Archer

Walt Hemingway, Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department; Laughlin Substation

Nick Sessions (Posthumous), Bullhead City Police Department

Humanitarian Award

Brit "Deuce" Brandt

Janelle Summerlin

Jena Morga

Jonathan Connaughty

Entrepreneur Award

Donna Kelly, Laughlin Community Health Care

Eric Fox, Pro-Fit-Kitchin

Jonathan Connaughty, Papa John's Pizza

Kent Divich, Renaissance Realty

Communications Award

Cat Smith

Grace Hecht

James McNutt

Mohave Valley Daily News

Business Expansion & Retention Award

Desert Lawn Funeral Home

News West Publishing

Riverside Resort Hotel & Casino

The Funky Poodle Too

Small Business of the Year

Family Care Home Health and Hospice

K9 Paws Behavior Dog Training

Kona Ice of Bullhead City

Rivyve Behavioral Health 

Large Business of the Year

Aquarius Casino Resort

Riverside Resort Hotel & Casino

Western Arizona Regional Medical Center

Community & Social Service Organization Award

Kiwanis Club of the Colorado River (Noon Club)

Catholic Charities Community Services
Legacy Foundation Christine Stamper Center for Help & Hope

Mohave High School Student Council

Senior Circle, Sponsored by Western Arizona Regional Medical Center

Congratulations to everyone that was nominated; you are all outstanding members of our Colorado River Region! Those listed here will receive a congratulatory phone call to schedule an interview on Wednesday, September 29th or Thursday, September 30th, with the judging panel as well as a professional portrait for individual nominees.

The 24th Annual Community Achievement Awards will be held at the breathtaking Laughlin Ranch Golf Club & Spa. Tickets for this event are not available. Nominees will arrive at pre-scheduled times throughout the day to accept their awards and have their photographs taken. This event will be announced by Dominic Dragone from Murphy Broadcasting and live streamed with The Bee News Media Company. Stay tuned for more details!

Michelle Crider
Laughlin Chamber of Commerce
(702) 298-2214